Comforts of mindless consistency – false hope


 

Why did punters rush to enroll just after hearing the Transcendental brand of Meditation debunked? Robert Cialdini explains,

“[The group spokesman] put it best: “Well, I wasn’t going to put down any money tonight because I’m really quite broke right now; I was going to wait until the next meeting. But when your buddy started talking, I knew I’d better give them my money now, or I’d go home and start thinking about what he said and NEVER sign up.”

“All at once, things began to make sense. These were people with real problems; and they were somewhat desperately searching for a way to solve those problems. They were seekers who, if our discussion leaders were to be believed, had found a potential solution in Transcendental Meditation. Driven by their needs, they very much wanted to believe that TM was the answer.

“Now, in the form of my colleague, intrudes the voice of reason, showing the theory underlying their newfound solution to be unsound. Panic! Something must be done at once before logic takes its toll, and leaves them without hope again. Quickly, quickly, walls against reason are needed; and it doesn’t matter that the fortress to be erected is a foolish one.”

False hope.  Just like the national lottery.

Just like UKAS ISO management accreditation.

Just like health leaders and their professional bodies.

 

This entry was posted in Management, Psychology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment